Hi everyone! I hope you had a good weekend basking in the sunshine. I’m going to share another poem from Eyes of Perspective with you in a minute, but before I do that I’d like to go over what’s going to be happening on the day the book launches. On 17/06/16 The Poetry of Autism: Eyes of Perspective will be available to buy on Etsy (I’ll post links on this blog). They’ll also be a poetry reading at The Bradford Playhouse at 7:00pm, featuring performances from all three writers and a Q and A. Now without further ado, here’s the second poem I’m going to be sharing, “All the Angles” by Joshua Williams.

All the Angeles

All the angles, they keep changing.

I look in the mirror and see a distorted reflection,

The world spinning around me,

And after all this, I feel dizzy.

 

I try to grasp hold of what feels

Like a drunken mind in a sober body

When the world around me spins,

And after all this, I feel tired.

 

I try to take in the world through my vision,

Blurred by thoughts of tiresome pain

As the world around me is spinning,

And after all this, I feel nothing.

 

***

Joshua performed this poem at the launch of our first pamphlet (Seeing Double: The Poetry of Autism). After the performance a woman in the audience came up to him, explaining that she was diagnosed with autism late in life and Joshua’s poem put into words an experience that she had been struggling with for years. Of course, we made sure she had a copy of the poem and I reminded myself that “All the Angles” needed to be part of our next book. I’ve had issues with balance and proprioception (awareness of where your body is in time and space) and think Joshua sums up the experience really well in this direct and extremely powerful poem. I love the way ‘the world around me in spinning’ is repeated in every stanza, but the words are changed just enough to cause confusion, causing the reader to try to grasp for something they can’t quite get hold of. My favourite poem by Joshua has to be “Possessive Obsessive” (I kind of wish I’d written that one myself) but “All the Angles” comes in at a close second.

Leave a Reply

